Transitioning from active duty navy to civilian mariner

Greetings All,
I have several questions to ask in regards to life as a civilian mariner and I have visited this forum from time to time and found great advice, so I am going to throw some questions out there to gain some more insight.

My background is Engineering, I have currently served 20 years Active Duty USN as a Gas Turbine Senior Chief, I am currently working on my Engineering License, I am assuming 3rd or 2nd A/E range before I get out in February 2013.

MEBA Union is it worth it or not? Also how do those big retirement annuities work they almost seem to good to be true?

What is the highest endorsement I can probably test for with 13 years of documented Sea Time on 4 different ships (3 CG’s and 1 DDG) all over 80,000 HP, and I have EOOW letters from all four?

Is MSC my best option right out of the gate?

Is it hard to get into MODU’s and is the pay as good as MSC? The MODU rotation of 21 or 28 on and 21 or 28 off is pretty attractive to me and is making 150k a year at either one of these ventures feasible?

If you get an AE license you can easily make 150k on a drilling rig oe dull ship, plus you will be home a hell of a lot more than MSC.

With your background you should be able to sit for your original 2nd A/E, Unlimited HP. Be sure and get the Gas Turbine endorsement. Are you sitting for both steam and motor? I’d advise it if you are so inclined. MSC has some fine opportunities. I’m a retired MEBA engineer so I highly recommend you join the Union PLUS the MEBA has the Calhoon MEBA Engineering School, an excellent opportunity for further training and advancement. One use to be able to join the MEBA if actively sailing with MSC, don’t know if that is still current. The Union has halls in most major port cities. You might consider to pay a visit. I feel you would enjoy deep sea sailing with MSC and I wish you the best.

http://www.d1meba.org/

http://www.mebaschool.org/