SIU Apprentice looking for tug/ATB work

Hi, so I’m currently an SIU apprentice waiting to go back to the school for phase 3 of the 5 phase program- after completion I’ll hold an AB ticket, tankerman assist and B level union seniority- I think I would prefer to sail inland or near coastal rather than deep sea.

I’m from North Jersey, I’ve heard Harley Marine (or now, Centerline Logistics) takes SIU contracts… Does anyone have any experience working on a tug/ATB through the SIU and have any feedback on the availability of these jobs? Or know someone?

Thanks!

Your beloved SIU should help you find work. Lol. what a fucking joke.

I am sure the SIU explained their program to you. Once you successfully complete Phase 3, the union will assign you your first job (Phase 4). It is not something for you to find on your own…that will come later.

Honor your commitment to SIU for training you, do that , then perhaps seek other opportunities. They gave you a shot when maybe others didn’t. Man up.

1 Like

And also, if you’re on a tanker or ATB in the program, make damn sure you document any loads and discharges you participate in. This will speed up your tankerman cert.

G&H Towing in Texas is SIU-Inland. I guess you could transition to them pretty easily when you finish your training.

What about his question implies he intends to leave the union?

He never said he was leaving, my suggestion was to complete it.

That’s an unnecessary suggestion because he was asking about working on tugs AFTER he finishes the apprenticeship.

Then why say “honor your commitment to SIU”?

Bad suggestion to complete his training and commitment he signed on for? Good to look forward for employment opportunities later on, finish the program and move forward from there. That’s bad advice in your mind perhaps?

It’s irrelevant advice because he never indicated he had any desire to do otherwise.