Shipyard job any good?

I have always wanted to work on a tug, i’ve been going literally door to door knocking on every maritime company I can find in NYC and haven’t gotten much in the way of work on the water, I recently was offered over 50k to be the daily manager right under the general manager of a major shipyard here in NYC. My question is would taking this job in any way help me towards getting a job on tugs?

I want to go deck but I was an engineer by trade in the USN. I did a similar job but at a navy yard shoreside so I have no sea time. I was thinking maybe I could use this money and time at sea to take engineering classes? Is it possible to move up in the engineering ranks without being on a ship or is sea time the only way? Oh they said they will send me to lots of engine classes so that I know what they are working with, we are talking big engines, not pleasure boats, full on commercial ferries, tugs, and fishing vessels.

It will give you experience to put on a resume and in time you could get a mechanical engineering degree that with 180 days of sea time slows you to get 3AE. Other than that no, as fat as I know it won’t allow you to get or advance a license. Then again, if it is a really good job dealing with boats and has room for promotion then why not make a career of it?

It won’t help you get an engineering license but some shipyard time is creditable towards upgrading. You would still need actual sea time as only SOME of it counts.

Sent from my Sound Powered Phone

[QUOTE=tank3355;66922]I have always wanted to work on a tug, i’ve been going literally door to door knocking on every maritime company I can find in NYC and haven’t gotten much in the way of work on the water, I recently was offered over 50k to be the daily manager right under the general manager of a major shipyard here in NYC. My question is would taking this job in any way help me towards getting a job on tugs?