Rules of the Road referencing while on watch

When I was a deck seaman and a BM in the Navy, I noticed several of the OOD’s would constantly be cracking open the Rules of the Road international-inland book, some more than others. Some would use it to pass the time while steaming in open water and be productive, whereas some it seemed needed to look something up prior to executing any maneuver, regardless of how busy things were (or at least have someone look something up for them )
Is what I witnessed representative of a responsible mariner? Or does this show a lack of knowledge?

It never hurts to refresh yourself on the Rules.

Dude, you pose the question as if to imply confirming the Rules is a sign of incompetence.
That’s a bad assumption and sets a dangerous tone on the bridge.

I would applaud any OOD to reference the Rules at anytime.

Sorry if it sounded like I was implying anything, I was asking out of ignorance as I have zero experience navigating a vessel; I don’t consider a helmsmen (E-nothing) equating to experience.
Reason I asked is i was reading the book, and reflecting on what I remembered from the Navy. Were they being responsible? Or were they just gun decked into their OOD qual?
Anyways, thanks or the replies, I agree that it’s reassuring they are confirming (as opposed to not knowing anything) their decisions by the book.

Try coming in Bells Pass or going through the Hole in the Wall and looking in the book to decide passing arrangements, see how long you last.

The whole reason you take a 70 question test that you have to make a 90 on is to prove that one has a very thorough understanding of the rules so one knows what to do when things get hairy.

If the rules don’t come to one like 2nd nature after 6 months of sitting behind the wheel then it’s time find something else or resign ones self to being a paper work mate.