REC -Testing

Hoping someone can answer the following questions for me;

1. I believe the 1981 Nautical Almanac used in exam questions used to be on the http://www.uscg.mil/nmc/ website but I cannot locate it, any ideas?

2. Is there a list of publications that are available for use at the REC’s

3. Does it make any difference which REC you test at?

Many Thanks !!!

You might wanna ask them what your supposed to bring. They should have all the reference pubs though.

Also you’re best off buying the Alminac online to practice with. You should have your own copy of all the pubs.

Buy it all less the CFR’s. Its your license, there is no reasonable way to study without. Plus being familiar with the exact reference material you will have in the exam room is absolutely essential.

[QUOTE=z-drive;96346]. Plus being familiar with the exact reference material you will have in the exam room is absolutely essential.[/QUOTE]
So true. When I took my original 3rds I studied hard on everything but safety. I thought it would be simple enough. I was wrong. I was unprepared except for the fact that I knew how to navigate through cfr’s There were about 20 questions I did not know answers to but found them in the cfr’s. Even if the question doesn’t start out with “according to CFR…” chances are its in there somewhere. They saved my ass

1. http://www.sandwichship.com/books.shtml

If you can test in Mandeville LA (New Orleans) or Boston they are both really nice. Takes some of the stress off when people arn’t being nasty to you or making up their own rules about testing.

The one in Miami has a bad rap and one of the California ones, I think it might be Oakland is also terrible. I think I heard Charlotte might also be good.

[QUOTE=skycowboy;96360]

The one in Miami has a bad rap and one of the California ones, I think it might be Oakland is also terrible. I think I heard Charlotte might also be good.[/QUOTE]