Plotting tools as Carry On?

I have a test appointment on Monday, and I have a flight on Sunday to the REC location. Anyone ever took plotting tools in their carry on luggage? Will the dividers cause an issue? I don’t have time to get new stuff before the test. Figure this must have come up before for some of you.

I think you’ll find the triangles make better weapons than dividers. Luckily, I’m driving distance. I can’t imagine either would be flagged. But it is very dependent on the idiot behind the screen. Worse case you use a slack pair out of the REC tool pile.

1 Like

I carried my very nice German dividers through in a carry on about a year ago. The TSA agent asked to look at them, I explained what they were, and he thankfully let me through. I’d have cancelled my flight if I had to leave them behind.

Used to bring my own tools, as a chief engineer I would bring my multimeter, AC/DC clamp meter, temp gun and megger, now, I bring me and my work clothes, if the company won’t supply them, then I don’t need them. I see captains use their personal cells for company business because the ships cell or internet is out in a foreign port, captain gets stuck with a bill because the company supplies a cell and internet and won’t pay a personal bill. Me, I’m paid to do a job and not supply my own gear.

3 Likes

Honestly. I use my own phone because of convenience. The Mate typically has the ships phone for working with planners, etc. my personal phone doesn’t cost anything more internationally, can be used far more effectively in speaker mode if necessary, and let’s me have direct contact with the agent if I decide to go ashore or want immediate answers about sailing. It works well for me.

1 Like

I went from the boat to work in the office, I know that as long as the crews use their own equipment, the company will not supply them. Seen captains working foreign get stuck with bills that were $1000 or more. Only after coms were stopped did the boat get a cell.