Need Advice... SIU? or door 2 door in Louisiana?

Hi first I’m a 29 year old male with no family, no ties, no debt from Savannah Ga i have my MMC TWIC STCW95 and passport but unfortunately i have no mariner job experience. I have an extensive resume as a laborer in the construction field. but mainly Ive just traveled around from state to state living cheep and free.
Now, what i’m looking for: I want to be on a ship for as long as possible and travel as much as possible. I don’t care where i go, or what conditions i have to work in. i don’t care how hard the work is ( i stay in excellent physical shape and enjoy long days of physical work in the fresh air) and not that i’m looking to be taken advantage of but i don’t care what i get paid
( especially these first few years). I live life for the adventure nothing else.
my thoughts: since i’m currently in Savannah Ga i was looking at two options : 1) i go down to Jacksonville and join the Seafarers Union ( i’m aware it will take some time for them to find me a job and plan on staying at a crew house/seaman’s house and finding day work at a nearby marina to cover my lodging and other minimal expenses in the mean time)
2) i go to Louisiana and go company to company (with my pathetic looking resume) again staying in a crew house/seaman’s house and finding day labor until getting hired…
PLEASE ANY ADVISE WILL BE GREATLY APPRECIATED RIGHT NOW! I JUST WANT TO GET TO SEA!

Sounds like you would like NOAA or another research type vessel, if you want long hitches to various places and don’t care about the pay… They always seem to be looking for people, probably because of long hitches and low pay.

Just get hired with MSC. sealiftcommand.com
Steady work, good paycheck, federal benefits, stay on ships as long as you like. MSC is perfect for single guys with no permanent home.