Mail to the ship

So I’ve been shipping out for the last 4 years (almost). Three and a half of those years were with Military Sealift Command so I was always moving and gone from home for long periods.

The benefit about living with family members was that they could send mail to you and such. I am hoping to finally get my own place this year by myself (at the moment) and I’m trying to figure out the mail situation.

I would say this question is pointed more towards people who have been shipping for a while and live by themselves, but how can I have mail sent to me whenever I’m on a ship and I have no one at my residence to do it? I’m talking like the usual BS like bills, jury duty notices, etc.

There are plenty of inexpensive mail forwarding services that can handle that for you. Google will turn up many results.

1 Like

Its been about 15 years but I used to rent a mail box at a local MailBox Etc. & they would forward the contents of the box wherever in the world I asked them for no additional charge. I just paid for the box & shipping. It turned into a Kinkos then to a UPS store. It was a mom-&-pop franchise owned location that needed the business & were happy to do business with me. They had my credit card number on file & if I called between 9-5, M-F either mom or pop would answer & an explanation wasn’t necessary. It was real easy. I highly recommend this method but just make sure you find a mail box place with very little turn over so you won’t have to explain yourself to some new idiot, ex-con or teenager every time you call.

I’ve had a mailbox service for going on 12 years now. I’ve used the big ones like Mailbox Etc, UPS store and the like. My personal favorite was Postal Depot in Reno.

http://www.thepostaldepot.com/