Licensed Engineers - State of the Job Market?

I’m a Maritime Academy grad and I’ve been working as a Mechanical Engineer at a desk job for the past few years. I am also a private pilot and working towards becoming a flight instructor and eventually an ATP. While it’s been fun, I can only see my spouse (who is in college in a different town) on the weekends and the pay isn’t the best.

I feel it makes sense for me to go out and sail. It would give me more time than my current job with my spouse and give me stretches of time to fly. Plus, the ME jobs where my spouse lives aren’t interesting to me and don’t pay any better.

I’ve spoken to a few friends in the industry. A couple of them say that its great and I should go for it, and one other who went shoreside said not to. I already have my documents renewed and ready to go, and I’m speaking with some companies with some offers on the table. In most cases the pay is 20% better than what it is in my current role.

What is the current situation in the shipping industry? I have heard whispers of A/E’s leaving for better-paying shoreside jobs and massive shortages in both non-union and union positions

Also:
Since I have short-term (≤3 years in the industry) goals, does it make sense to shoot for union or non-union jobs?

I see a lot of ads for engineers. I’d go non union…

1 Like

A 3rd assistant or better with all the stcw bells and whistles can damn near have their choice of jobs. An even time schedule on a tug or osv paying anywhere from 110k to 150k a year shouldn’t be too hard to find.

I believe crowley is still offering hiring bonuses for engineers in some of their fleets.

There have been some recent threads here about how deep sea shipping/unions are hurting for officers. There’s also been threads about shore based opportunities for engineers that ‘pay the same’ as working offshore but it seems that those leads that are mentioned here are more vague and cryptic in my opinion.