Is Piney Point worth it for color blind?

Hello,

I am interested in getting into Deep Sea merchant marine, sounds like Piney Point/SIU may be a good way to go.

I am color blind (the dots from the test), am I only limited to Steward’s dept?

Is it worth going through the Piney Point program if I know I will only be limited to the Steward’s dept (vs just doing TWIC/z-card and all on my own then go and wait at the SIU for SA positions)?

Last question: I am an electrical engineer, done sofware testing for telecomm for 11 years. Down the road can I somehow get a job on the ship with that degree?

Thank you all very much,
Jan

See 46 CFR 10.215(b)(1) and Table 10.215(a). Color blindness is only disqualifying for deck officer endorsements (licenses) and deck ratings endorsements.

I would check with PineyPoint before going through the rest of the stuff. Part of the program is spending time in each of the departments.

I should have been more precise. Color-blindness is disqualifying for AB, but not for Ordinary Seaman. This should allow one to complete the Unlicernsed Apprentice Program and its assignments to each department. But checking with Piney Popint is still a good idea.

[quote=jan68;17992]Hello,

I am interested in getting into Deep Sea merchant marine, sounds like Piney Point/SIU may be a good way to go…
Down the road can I somehow get a job on the ship with that degree?
[/quote]

SIU is a way to gain entry to the engine department then work up to electrician and use that as a foundation on which to advance to an ETO position which pays the same as 2nd or even 1st engineer. You might not be happy sailing unlicensed but if you can tough it out the time is valuable and not wasted.