If you had to do it all over again?

If one had an opportunity to sail on any ship for a living, which type of ship would it be and why? What deck side career path does the industry hold in highest regard? Lowest regard?

Summer of 2010 I’ll be sailing on my commercial cruise, and I am looking for a little hindsight wisdom from experienced sailors on deck side career paths.

Thanks in advance for your posts.

I wish I would have got started in oil drilling ships as a dpo when I graduated in 2006. Sure your not going to visit exotic ports in that line of work but that is the only segment that I see any growth in the American merchant marine.

The only regard or esteem you should worry about comes from the condition of your bank account and your happiness. What some other sailor thinks about your type of ship or industry segment should be the least of your concerns.

Many of us have a “love of the sea” but we all need to make enough money to make up for spending half our lives waiting to go home, or get so much pleasure from the job that the money and time really doesn’t matter.

Plan a career path that allows you to decide when, where, and for how long and how much you are willing to sell your youth.

Engineering

It’s been a long time since I have been on a ship where all the deck officers were not all licensed unlimited tonnage Captains. On the other hand we are always needing engineers. You checked the wrong box young man.

I’d go back to the Western Pacific and run a purse seiner. Believe it or not.

Now that you know how…YOU can go back as the “Fish Master”!!!:eek:

[QUOTE=Jeffrox;23927]Now that you know how…YOU can go back as the “Fish Master”!!!:eek:[/QUOTE]

Yeah man! :cool: