I need a bit of advice

there seems to be a strong possibility i may be employed as a deckhand for Kirby but i am going to have to pass all the entry training to gain full employment the thing is i have never worked on a boat and or barge before is there anything anyone could recommend me to study before hand, so that i maybe able to keep the job ?

just need some common sense , know how to clean and clean and clean and cook.

Yeah. Learn to cook some basic meals if you dont already know how. Need to know the basics of cleaning and maintaining what amounts to a small home at sea. (Sounds crazy but many people dont know how to say, clean a toilet, a stove, floors, etc.) Line-handling will be taught to you the way the Captain wants it done. Wouldn’t hurt to teach yourself a square knot, clove hitch, and boland knot in the interim. My pet peeve is safety gear. Wear your PPE and mind yourself at all times. Deckhands are killed in the line of work every year. Listen to the Captain, Mate, and old hands at all times and do your best and you will make out well. A good deckhand is a blessing.

Purchase and read the newest version of the American Merchant Seaman’s Manual if you want to read something. That will cover all the basics.

boland knot…

When you are being instructed about something don’t say “I know, I know” because no, you do not know, that’s why you at being instructed about it. Pay attention, nod your head, and ask questions if you don’t understand.

Don’t argue with the captain or mate.
Stay the fuck off of your fucking phone.
Don’t sleep on watch.
Don’t watch tv unless absolutely nothing is going on.
Stay busy even if it’s just busy work.
Stay the fuck off your fucking phone.
Practice throwing lines if possible, the mate or other deckhand will show you how.
Practice splicing lines and knots, again someone will teach you as long as you are willing to learn.
Stay off of your fucking phone.