Heavy Weather Tactics

As far as testing, car ships routinely shut down and drift waiting for berth availability if the weather is suitable. One thing to be avoided is going through all the trouble of having the engineers prepare to shut down only to find it’s too rough to drift.

Over the years of doing wxobs I’ve gotten better at estimating swell / wave period. It’s good practice to compare rolling period observed / calculated. I’ve gotten so I can call it in advance most times.

Preaching to the choir.

2 Likes

I have no experience on this type of vessel but in general the issue is the point where the window between going into it slow enough vs loosing steerage becomes too small.

The other issue is in a TRS the fury has no specific direction. In confused seas pointing into the wind and heading in to the largest seas is not necessarily the same thing.

4 Likes

I have been following the discussions here with interest, and sometimes distress, and have some experience of dealing with adverse weather on an offshore vessel. In the early days in the North Sea when storms approached we used to be sent for shelter, usually in the nooks and crannies of the Shetland Islands, but we found that the approach of a “weather window” would require us to return to the location, with it still blowing a hooley, and this resulted in damage to the ship and sometimes the loss of the cargo, so in the end we would just hung about and wait for things to improve, doing what the fishing industry called “laying and dodging” usually without any damage. I also had the opportunity of testing the capability of my ship to ride out adverse weather with the engines stopped, since we were looking after a rig well north of the Shetlands for the duration of a well, with no cargo on deck. We found that with the engines stopped the ship would lie with the weather on either quarter and would be comfortable with dry decks up to a wind speed of about 50 knots.

5 Likes