Have you ever sailed with Russians?

I’m a graduate/license student at Ft. Schuyler currently out on cadet observer in lieu of second class cruise. I was placed on a foreign flag tanker manned by Russian officers and crew. Fortunately, many of the deck officers speak decent conversational English, so I don’t anticipate the language barrier being a major issue. Have any of you had experience sailing with Russian officers or crew in the past? Do you have any advice or interesting stories?

Don’t even think about trying to keep up when they start drinking!!! If you don’t die, you will wish you were dead.

I sail with 3 of them right now. One AB a chief and a A/E. All 3 are good seaman as far as I’m concerned. Other than the A/E and AB don’t speak great english, there is nothing bad I could say wbout any of them.

Heed the advice of CaptainMike.
I sailed with Polish and Russians for a total of 500+/- days. All days were in the 1980s durring jointventure fisheries in the Bering and west coast. THe boats were all 300’-400’ factory trawlers used as processors.

The good news: ALL were very experinced mariners. The education system over there put kids on diffrent trade tracts early on. In the 9th grade the guys on the boats went the maritime highschool route. By the 10th grade they had a choice of Deck or Bridge. The bridge guys went to our equivent to a 4 year academy and then shipped out for ONE year as an apprentice. After that, they got their 3/M. The deck guys went to a two year AB style school and later completed their ONE year apprentice on deck (OS).

We would do an at sea offload to small cargo boats. It was common to see kids on the cargo boats. The companies had a policy for family ride-a-longs.

The guys on the trawlers were on a 6 month on 6 month off schedule. It saved the company money on air fare.