Getting Started in the Industry

I need a little bit of guidance. I’m a Navy veteran (shipserviceman).I have my MMC with the wiper,steward,ordinary seaman endorsements,my passport,and TWIC card. I’m in San Diego but I have no clue on which direction to go in next in order to get employed in the maritime industry. I didn’t get accepted into SIU apprentice program I have no clue why but should I apply for other schools or programs or pay out of pocket for classes to get more endorsements? Any suggestions will help!

What are your goals? Where do you see yourself in 2 years? 5 years? 15 years?

My ultimate goal is to eventually become a maritime officer. In 2,5,and 15 years I want to have a successful seagoing career. Within those 2 and 5 years I would like to get my bachelors degree. I have already invested in real estate which I also have a huge interest in. However, every since leaving the military I tried different jobs but my passion has always been to get back out to sea. I don’t really care whether it’s deck or engineering just want to get started basically.

That GI bill can help you get there.

I’ve been retired for several years so I can’t comment about which courses currently being offered are the best, however, I share your passion with spending time at sea and that’s 90% of the battle.
If you don’t mind being subjected to some amount of Navy style BS, which being a former squid shouldn’t be a problem, and if you go the hawsepiper route, one of the quickest way to reach the exalted rank of captain is to homestead with MSC. If you have your wits about you should make bosun within a few years and within four or five, unlimited mate or master. I’m not an engineering type but I think similar time elements would apply up the AE path to CE.