FV to MY/SY Seatime Log?

I’m new to the yachting industry, but have 2.5+ years experience as an Alaskan commercial fisherman. What with all the relevant experience I have from those jobs, I would like to parlay that into my new seatime logbook. However, I can’t make sense of how to translate my fishing seatime into these yacht-based seatime forms.

Does anyone have experience with this? Thank you!

[QUOTE=Thomas Longbottom;122524]I’m new to the yachting industry, but have 2.5+ years experience as an Alaskan commercial fisherman. What with all the relevant experience I have from those jobs, I would like to parlay that into my new seatime logbook. However, I can’t make sense of how to translate my fishing seatime into these yacht-based seatime forms.

Does anyone have experience with this? Thank you![/QUOTE]

Are you from the U.K.? What is a “seatime logbook”? This forum is mostly peopled by U.S. merchant mariners. In the U.S. there is no distinction between time earned on yachts and commercial ships. There is no separate governing body for yachting licenses, there is only the Coast Guard.

The U.S. Coast Guard National Maritime Center has online information regarding the sea service forms required to get a license. There is a “small vessel sea service form” which can be filled out for any vessel under a certain size. ( I think it’s 200 GRT) You either need one of these Coast Guard sea service forms signed by the master of the vessels you served on, or the company you worked for has to give you a sea service letter with all of the proper information. You cannot self-report your sea service.

If you’re in the British Commonwealth, your questions may be better answered by the Royal Yachting Association.

You can “self-report” time on a small vessel sea service form as long as you can document it, either by a logbook or proof of ownership, etc…