Future of Kings Point

With a deep sea fleet of under 200 ships and autonomy on the way, we do not need 5 state maritime academies plus Kings Point. The KP campus would be ideal for DoD Transportation and Logistics Academy or a Cyber Academy, serving all branches of the military.
I am a KP grad, but I see this as way to prevent the facility from being shut down. The Dept of Transportation and especially Marad, are weak agencies. The DoD would give KP a secure future.

3 Likes

Well, it already DOES serve all branches of the military. The real solution is to strengthen the US Flag commercial fleet (as opposed to MSC), but we all know that isn’t happening anytime soon.

2 Likes

The US deep sea fleet could be expanded considerably by relaxing the Jones Act US build requirement. The high cost of building ships in the US actually leaves some JA trade routes unserved. An example is container feeder vessels on the USEC. We truck containers up and down the coast rather than shipping them, which creates traffic, pollution, beat up our roads and is much more expensive than would be ships.
But the US shipbuilders would rather see this and other trades go unserved rather than grant a waiver for business they do not have.
On other JA trades, oil companies work around the high price of using JA ships in a number of ways. Attached is a graphic of what happens every day. Rather than use JA ships to transport gasoline from US refineries to US ports, foreign flag ships are used to deliver US gasoline to Canada and Canadian gasoline to the US. I.e. foreign flag ships carrying the same cargo passing each other going in opposite directions. These are all because of the high cost of building ships in the US. Granted, US flag opex is also higher, but not to the extent that building costs are.
US yards build good ships. They simply do not have the economies of scale to compete with foreign yards.

2 Likes

RPC