Freighter travel

Maris Int’l is an agency that books passages on a few container ships servicing ports in the US and Europe. I contacted them to book a passage to Europe at the advertised rate of 120 Euro per day per pax. They came back with a rate of 180 Euro per day. That’s a huge increase in expense, especially considering that even segmented travel takes 12 to 18 days each way.
So I’m looking to book on other ships at lower cost if anyone knows of any.
Ideally Norfolk VA to Amsterdam or Rotterdam but flexible.

1 Like

Wouldn’t get you to Norfolk, but Polish Steamship (PZM) offers east and west bound transits between continental Channel ports and the Seaway on bulkers. Most people go all the way to Milwaukee or Burns Harbor Harbor, IN but IIRC the option exists to disembark at a Canadian Seaway port west bound.

I met some nice passengers over the years when I was a pilot.

https://www.freighterexpeditions.com.au/europe-to-the-great-lakes

This link more details and pics of the boats…

http://www.cruisepeople.co.uk/pzm.htm

2 Likes

What is the appeal of traveling by freighter? It looks awfully expensive for the kind of no thrills accommodations and ports.

Freighter expeditions did most of the bookings with the passengers that I carried Trans Pacific. We had 3 passengers suites each with their own day room. Food was ordinary but probably better than what crews are getting now. I carried some interesting passengers including a rocket scientist and a lady who had been a professor in mathematics at MIT.

1 Like

A couple of reasons. I’ve had my fill of sitting in aluminum tubes with no elbow room for 10 hours at a time and I wouldn’t travel on a cruise ship if you paid me. As an added bonus, the missus was always wanting to know what I was doing when I was at sea and I rarely had anything interesting to report. This way, she can experience it for herself.