First Class Pilot - Local Knowledge exams

I am currently preparing to test for Great Lakes Pilotage. The chart sketches I am not overly concerned about. The Local Knowledge portion is another matter. I know the questions come from the Coast Pilot, but I don’t think study of the Coast Pilot is a effective way to prepare for such a large area, we are talking about hundreds of pages. It seems to me the question bank must exist somewhere, but have not had much luck on that front. Anyone have a lead on that or some other advice?

Seriously? Doesn’t mason have the questions? I graduated three years ago and when I took it, I had every question asked all the way back to1990. Mason gave us the packet when we started license prep. They ask the same questions over and over. The local knowledge is the easiest part of the test, just read over the questions a few times just before you take it, presto you get 100%. I hate to say it but if you have no clue what I’m talking about then some idiot screwed it up for everyone and the coast guard changed their test. Good luck!

I don’t go to GLMA, I’m a hawsepiper. I have my doubts about calling up there and expecting them to give me anything, but what you describe is exactly what I expected to be able to do.