Fake seatime

Hi guys, i’m new to the forum and i have a question.
So i worked a charter season with a captain(500gt uscg license). Anyhow i’ve been working on Yachts for the past 10 years. And that guy had pretty much no clue about anything. No managment skills, bad boat handling skills, couldn’t drive a boat with an outboard engine or jet engine. No idea about meteorology, couldn’t tie basic knots or a line to a cleat. He was pretty dangerous specially in towning maneuvers and deploying and retrievering anchor.
How can i report somebody? I mean he definitely faked his seatime somehow

Don’t waste your time. Until he kills someone or sinks the boat, no one cares.

I worked for one of the biggest yacht management firms in the world and discovered we had an engineer in the fleet with a faked license, we had full documentation of the fact and reported it to flag. They would do nothing. The reason they gave is the the license was issued by another flag state with whom they had to deal with at IMO and the risk to them for exposing the fraud was more of a threat than the fraud itself.

Faked licenses and falsified sea time records are endemic in the yacht industry. If you have been in it for 10 years you should be immune to outrage by now.

1 Like

I have observed it on near coastal ferries, water taxi, public transit vessels and just about anywhere as far as small tonnage licenses and endorsements go. I have seen companies writing up deck service time for people who have only ever worked at the bar just so they can get their pathetic 100 ton licenses. I have seen daddy tug master document fake sea time for his son too so he can get this AB ticket. That’s not my job to even care, just a lesson to stay the fuck away from certain parts of the industry. Let the USCG do their job.