Estimating Wind Speed/Direction

This continues a discussion on the El Faro thread concerning the utility of anemometers.

When I went to maritime academy we were taught how to determine true wind direction and speed using an anemometer, a maneuvering board and vector diagrams (remember those?). Well and good. Then I graduated and began working in the Bering Sea. We had anemometers. Sometimes they were to be trusted. Sometimes not. Sometimes they “worked“, but the reading was patently false. Venturi effects and wind channeling peculiar to the wheelhouse structure affected the anemometer on certain courses at a certain wind speeds.

Few skippers really cared, because most of them determined true wind by looking out the window and at the gyrocompass. The angle of the waves to ship’s heading told you wind direction. The faculty of judging of wind speed was developed by a curious osmosis of studying the sea state when the anemometer deigned to work, listening to the weather reports of nearby vessels, and, most importantly, by referring to the Beaufort Scale. Admiral Beaufort knew his stuff, and the laws of physics have not been repealed or altered since he came up with his scale in 1805. In the GoA and Bering Sea in Winter, in a 200’ boat, you got good at judging wind direction really quick.
One could say that reading an anemometer requires no experience. That would be correct, but doesn’t acknowledge the fact that anemometers can blithely lie. And how many times did a mate do vector diagram, get it wrong, and blithely log the results?

What did we do at night? Simple. We turned on the decklights and looked at the sea. The horror! Weren’t all those cones and rods in our eyeballs fried? They were already offended by all the radars and indicator lights in the wheelhouse, so no harm was really done.