Electric Conversion

Good morning everyone,

I’m a contractor working for a maritime-based company that is looking to retrofit an old, combustion-powered vessel with an electric motor. One of my tasks is to find a suitable electric motor that will allow a ~150’ OSV-style vessel to achieve 5-7 kts through the water.

From my research, there doesn’t seem to be a neat-and-tidy way to compare power and speed, so I was curious if there is a good way to estimate the wattage / horsepower needed for the application described above? I understand that it is dependent on weight; what other variables do I need to consider? Is there a rule of thumb for HP needed based on weight of the vessel?

Any and all help is greatly appreciated! I hope everyone had a good holiday weekend.

Are you going battery powered or just re-powering from a propulsion diesel to diesel-electric generator/motor combination?

As far as horesepower appropriate for the vessel size, someone’s already figured that out for you…what is the horsepower of the current propulsion system?

Thanks for the quick reply. We will be primarily battery powered, with a diesel generator on standby for redundancy (tied into the propulsion system to power the EPM).

The company hasn’t purchased the vessel yet, but even when we do the rated horsepower likely won’t reflect our needs. For example, say a vessel that we are looking at is rated for 2100 HP in order to make 21 kts. That’s ~14 kts of speed that we wouldn’t need / associated power that goes along with that. We are trying to minimize the electrical power that the EPM will need / save on cost.

The company is research-focused, so the EPM will only be used intermittently, as the vessel will be on station, DIW for extended periods of time.

Once again, thanks for your help.

Interesting. You’re probably going to be looking for a formula based on tons of displacement and maybe hull form.