Does SIU have a track to 3A/E?

I’ve read posts on here saying that there is a track from AB to 3M through pro-bono courses offered through SIU. Does the same exist for WI to 3A/E? In other words, do they offer the classes pro-bono as well for the engineering route to 3A/E?

I have a Bachelor’s degree in Engineering, just got accepted into SIU, and I want to get my 3A/E through the “Bachelor’s degree in engineering and 180 days sailing as QMED” checkpoint" on the USCG checklist.

I have the option of going the SUNY Maritime route (I’ll have to get another bachelor’s degree in engineering which I really don’t want to suffer through again).

Yes.

This is probably your best option.

1 Like

I’ll spend roughly $40,000 to get that degree is the real reason I’m hesitating on the school. I already experienced the ramifications of taking $100k+ for a bachelor’s degree

The link I sent isn’t a degree and doesn’t cost anything.

Gotcha, I thought you were referring to the SUNY Maritime college. I’m finishing my application now.

You need to figure out what sailing is like and whether you want to do it before investing too much into getting ready.

Why don’t you just go sail with SUP or SIU for 180 days and get qualified to test for 3rd Engineer. That will probably take one calendar year and cost nothing, plus you’ll make decent money.

That won’t get you STCW OICEW, but it will get you started toward it. I don’t happen to know how many days you need for that.

You can sail engineer on tugs, factory trawlers, ferries , on Great Lakes ships, or Inland without STCW.

1 Like

This is exactly my reasoning behind applying to the apprenticeship. But you think I should skip the apprenticeship and just look for a C-book job right off the bat?

Solid point about getting some experience, I told my folks the same thing.

He would have to pay for STCW BT himself.

Or do AMO’s free training program and if he hates it quit once his obligation is up.