Career help (USCG Rates)

Hello!

I’m a Navy vet (AD -Aviation Machinist mate), and I’l like some help /advice on the Coast Guard.
I plan on enrolling into the Marine Transportation major at the Maritime Academy at A&M.
I’m also looking into joining the CG reserves to build a solid resume.
I’d like to eventually become a navigator.
Which billet would best help my cause?

MK (Machine Tech)
ME (Maritime Law Enforcement)
MST (Marine Science Tech)
IT (Information Technology)

Navigator? Like in the CG? Is that even a thing?

As for commercial shipping there is no such position.

What are you wanting to do?

They have “Navigators” on seismic survey boats, but you won’t be sailing on your license doing that.

Wasn’t thinking of that. We get them from time to time for anchor work and ROV stuff from Fugro. Doubt most of them went to college for that though, mostly on the job training.

[QUOTE=Jemplayer;186490]Navigator? Like in the CG? Is that even a thing?

What are you wanting to do?[/QUOTE]

Maybe I asked my question wrong, Sorry.
I’d ultimately like to become an officer (third mate, i believe) through the maritime academy. I want to eventually become a pilot or a captain if I can make it that far.

My question is out of the listed rates provided from the Coast Guard, which one would support my career intentions the best?

Would Law enforcement look better on my resume vs machine technician if I eventually want to become a pilot? etc

Just guessing, but if he is an aviation guy in the Navy, he probably has NO idea how the merchant service is laid out. Perhaps saying that he wants to be a navigator is his way of stating that he would prefer to be in the deck department rather than the engine department. As far as the billet, maybe that is in the Coast Guard Reserve? Not sure that there are billets at TAMUG. . . your question may be better answered in the Maritime Academy section.

• Updated - - -