Career advice

Hello GCaptain salts! Looking for some advice from you all. Particularly any SUP guys. I currently have my AB Special. I have been taking a break from maritime work for a while but I may want to get back out there. My last unofficial job last summer was on an old salmon tender in Bristol Bay on which the four of us almost died on multiple occasions and before that I did a short stint in MSC as an ordinary mostly standing watch, prior to that I worked for a few years in Alaska on halibut boats and in GOM on a liftboat.

So how hard would it be to get on an SUP ship with an AB Special as a non-member with no seniority? Hard? Impossible? How long would one in my position typically have to wait around the hiring hall? Is it a thing where you have to be there in person all day? If I was going to have to spend some time in the city I would probably have to have a job to support myself in the interim. I’ve never done union work and dont really know what to expect at all. Which hall should I go to? SF, Seattle? Also I have been considering making a switch and going into engineering. Would there be any chance of a job as a wiper? Is this advisable or should I just try to get an AB position? I know f***all about engineering but I like learning things and working on things and solving problems and it seems like there is more opportunity to do that in the Engine dept. As much as I enjoy steering the ship, I dont really want to spend the rest of my life perfecting the fine art of the needle gun.

With that being said I would definitely take a job in deck dept. if I could get one.

Any advice is appreciated, no matter what it is. Thanks for helping me through a confusing time in my life. Cheers.

For poor sake… I’m gonna throw up an airbag…Deplolyed.

Stick to what you already know…and go to Nigeria…

No chance whatsoever. You need at least a limited to work on big ships. Use the search function.