Career advice-Captain/Maersk

Hey I am looking for some career advice and I figured that I would weigh in the insight of some professionals in the industry.

I am currently a junior at the University of Tennessee and a double major in Logistics & Finance with a concentration in International Business. I am trying to figure out my career options and what I want to do with my life. So here is a quick background: I grew up on the the Tennessee River, spent my whole life around boats, 2 years ago I got my 50 Ton USCG Masters License and started working for Sea Tow moving boats around the river, and last year I did a Semester at Sea where I spent a semester on a ship calling on ports around the Atlantic.

So here is my thought. If I were to enter the Merchant Marines what would be some options for me? I would be open to attending a marine academy, but seeing as I am wrapping up 4 years of school already, it would not be my first go to. Also while I was in Europe and Africa I talked to some guys who worked for Maersk and it seemed to be a great company. Also I met a captain of a large Maersk ship and so if it would be possible, I would love to work my way up that way.

So are my hopes for becoming a captain of the big ships in Maersk completely off base? Or becoming a captain in general? Thank you for your time.

You can do that. You could have also done it without going to school for 4 years. I’m not dogging your education, I think it is great you are doing that, just the reality is that a higher education has no bearing in the scheme of progression as a merchant mariner.