Azimuth Thruster capabilities

Good day all, I am curious about turning rates for azimuthing thrusters. (qualifier-18 yrs DP exp)I have operated some which can spin 360 deg in 20 secs all the way to some taking just over 2 mins. The 1 taking over 2 mins is what I am dealing with now. I am new to this vessel and it is having station holding issues. I have never run across thrusters this slow. It appears that the thrusters just can’t keep up with the demands. I have had to play with gains and whatnot just to do the job. do any of you have some insight as to minumin turning rate requirements for DP vessels???

Ours will do one full rotation in 30 seconds. The thrusters are ulstiens.

We have Ulsteins and do a timed test everytime as an extra check on our system. If it is 24 secs or higher, we change the filters and every other time there are two screens we change. They have a 10,000 hour recommended but we change them early because it can’t hurt.

2 minutes seems a little excessive.

thanks for the quick replies, Yep just what I suspected…They’ve been getting azimuth errors and such but I guess they didn’t think to check demands and feedback to troubleshoot the real issue. The Port Captain asked me what I thought of the problem and I replied to him that I would be suprised if it held at all, maybe in perfect conditions but watch out if something changes on you…

Ours are 40-50 seconds but they are odd to this series of anchor boats. Holds DP great in variable allocation, not at all in free run.