Anyone else out there working at the Deepwater Horizon Site?

I am a new Captain trainee and am working on one of the boats at the site. My boat has mainly been working the Deepwater Driller III rig but I’m not really sure whats happening out there. It’s funny I have to listen to the news on satellite radio to get the scoop. There’s a whole flotilla out there but most of the boats are on stand=
-by constantly. We are out there for weeks at a time just sitting on DP. Anyone know what there doing exactly? The news is pretty vague.

[QUOTE=Capt.Winn;38493]I am a new Captain trainee and am working on one of the boats at the site. My boat has mainly been working the Deepwater Driller III rig but I’m not really sure whats happening out there. It’s funny I have to listen to the news on satellite radio to get the scoop. There’s a whole flotilla out there but most of the boats are on stand=
-by constantly. We are out there for weeks at a time just sitting on DP. Anyone know what there doing exactly? The news is pretty vague.[/QUOTE]

You might want to check this thread

plus here also http://bp.concerts.com/gom/kwellsreliefwells062710.htm
http://bp.concerts.com/gom/reliefwellgraphics062710.htm

I am working on one of the responders. I too only see above water ops and get news from satellite TV.

I was there last week but going to Trinidad now. Do not watch the news. I hope the weather stays good. If u r working under DDIII, you should know better than anyone how it is going out there. U have more access than anybody. Talk to the crane operator while u r loading/unloading.

Be safe out there.

[QUOTE=BMCSRetired;38613]If u r working under DDIII, you should know better than anyone how it is going out there. U have more access than anybody. Talk to the crane operator while u r loading/unloading.

Be safe out there.[/QUOTE]

Agreed on all points… Stay Safe!