Advice Concerning the Starting of a Tramp Shipping Company

Hi All,

I have been interested in the tramp shipping business for some time now and have been looking into the feasibility of creating my own tramp shipping company. I have already purchased and read a number of books on the subject, from the standpoint of the business owner. I have no experience in shipping, the only knowledge I have so far is from the various books I have read.

Based on what I have read and from my limited understanding so far, I would first need to start a company, secure financing from a bank, preferably a maritime bank and purchase a relatively low cost ship in reasonable condition, either container or bulk. I would imagine that securing finance would be the most difficult hurdle to overcome. I also assume that as the business owner I may need some technical knowledge on the operation of such ships even with a crew operating the ship.

Any advice or suggestions on the topic would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Fraqrat, is that you chumming the forum again.

1 Like

[QUOTE=Vaughan;194077]Hi All,

I have been interested in the tramp shipping business for some time now and have been looking into the feasibility of creating my own tramp shipping company. I have already purchased and read a number of books on the subject, from the standpoint of the business owner. I have no experience in shipping, the only knowledge I have so far is from the various books I have read.

Based on what I have read and from my limited understanding so far, I would first need to start a company, secure financing from a bank, preferably a maritime bank and purchase a relatively low cost ship in reasonable condition, either container or bulk. I would imagine that securing finance would be the most difficult hurdle to overcome. I also assume that as the business owner I may need some technical knowledge on the operation of such ships even with a crew operating the ship.