Advice: AB or OS for 90-Days?

I am a former Naval junior officer who has been working inthe corporate world as a Project Manager and cannot see doing that for the restof my career and has been longing to go back to sea.

I am planning on sitting for my 100T NC Master’s license,but first I need to get my 90-days (within 3 years) recency requirementfulfilled.

The current project that I am on should complete around theend of October or the beginning of November and I need to finish it out, butthen I will be free to pursue a new job.

So, my thought process is that I not only need to get myMMC, but that I need to take three classes: Basic Training, RFPNW and PSC toget my AB.

My thought is that starting as an AB will make me moremarketable, even though I am only looking for my 90 days at this rate.Is this a better plan than just trying tofind a job as an OS?

Any thoughts or advice?

Thanks,
Jim

You need seatime as OS to get your AB first. In all honesty, I know it might kind of suck, but If you don’t have your masters degree yet you should consider going to a state maritime academy and getting an MS with an unlimited 3/m deck license.

Edit: or you might have qualifying sea time or other relevant things from the USN depending on what exactly you did.

This is one of those situations that requires a “USCG License Consultant.” Search here or use Google.

Keep in mind, there are more opportunities for ABs than 100 ton captains, in general…and that pay is usually the same or more depending where you end up. Working a couple years as an AB then going the mate route is another option.

100-Ton < AB, in many cases. No white shirt with bars on the shoulder but who cares? Well maybe the snack bar girl…but she is high mileage anyways.

[QUOTE=z-drive;166365]100-Ton < AB, in many cases. No white shirt with bars on the shoulder but who cares? Well maybe the snack bar girl…but she is high mileage anyways.[/QUOTE]