AB OSV to Mate

I am currently an AB OSV or will be in 35 more days. I am 45 and looking for advice on how to become a mate ASAP. I am currently working for Edision Chouest on well stim/supply 280 plus boats in the gulf. In 35 days I will have 180 days at sea. I have an approved offer from MSC to start in September. What would be the quickest path to getting my mates license? And for which company? I live in Texas and have the Hazelwood Act at my disposal to use at San Jacinto. Any advice or suggestions would be much appreciated. Thank you

A mate after 180 days? What’s the rush? It takes years to get the skills you need. Maybe try getting the deck down first…

3 Likes

So you have AB OSV currently? Or you need 35 more days for it still?

You’re not going to become a mate before you go to MSC.

1 Like

I will have my AB OSV in 35 days. Only thing is need is the 35 more days. I know MSC doesn’t care about AB OSV and that I will not me a mate when I go there. I am asking what is the quickest path to mate and with what company?

1 Like

You’re gonna get a lot of smart ass comments now you should’ve just called me I gave you my number I was more than willing to help but noooooooooooooo

1 Like

You are on the quickest path. You’re on a OSV and get 1.5 days sea-time. ECO has OSV Mate programs along with inhouse DP training. My advice, do what you are doing now - stay there, work hard, study, and test when you get the time. If you go to MSC, it will take longer.

4 Likes

Lol I’m sure you’re a good guy but for gods sake don’t give anyone licensing tips. You’re the same guy in the conundrum because you can’t pass chart plot because you had all the old answers memorized.

9 Likes

Don’t leave chouest to go to MSC. Stay where you are.

4 Likes

I can give other information though like all the classes you have to take the place to go for online training I’m not completely worthless

Lapware.org
Practicalnavigator.org for video

Able Seafarer-Deck-$0
RFPNW-$800