500/1600 Ton Master Inland Exam

Has anyone taken the 500/1600 Ton Master Inland exam recently? Can you tell me if it was difficult ?

Well. I’m working on getting my 500/1600 using my MOTV time which is on the 46 CFR 411(b). Or some like that. Studying my ass off.

I took the Master Inland Any Gross Tons exam a couple years ago. It was ridiculously easy.

Was the chart plotting difficult ?

The chart plot was easy.

Was it just the basic chart plotting as in set and drift, ETAs, Speed Made Good? Nothing tricky?

Yes. It was very basic. I didn’t have time to study. The only thing I studied at all was rules of the road. I just winged it on the rest of the exam. It was shockingly easy.

The thing that I find helpful on chart plots is to be quite familiar with the three charts that the USCG uses. It’s only three charts. If a question says something about “Wolf Trap”, you don’t want to be wondering what is Wolf Trap and where is it? Wolf Trap is fairly easy to find, but some of the other marks are not. You might never find them on the chart without looking them up in the Coast Pilot or Light List. You need to know that it’s an aid to navigation and where it is on the chart.

When I study for Chart Plots: I spend a couple hours just looking over each chart thinking about logical routes and important marks, aids to navigation, and reading the notes; I look over the Coast Pilots and Light Lists in case I have to use them to look something up.

I look at all the verbal questions that don’t require plotting to answer. There are about 10 published exams for each of the three charts, so 30 possible chart plot exams. IIRC each exam has about 5 verbal questions that don’t require a plot, so 150 questions total. I make sure that I know how to find what they ask about on the chart and the answers to all 150 questions. These are low hanging fruit.