What to do after a bachelor degree in Naval Architecture? RINa or MSc?

I’m a student of Naval Architecture and I’m close to get my bachelor degree. Actually I’m studying in Italy but I’d like to move out to my country because I want to develop my career abroad. I’ve heard about the Royal Institution of Naval Architects based in London and I would like to have more information from people that are in the sector and experienced. In particularly I’d like to know if the RINa will provide to give me the knowledges for start my career with a high preparation, then how is structured the training course. If somebody could let me know more about this institute I’ll be very grateful.

You could start here:

Or contact them for more info:

I’ve read it yet obviously, I want opinions from people that are expert in the sector or also from those that are familiar with it.

I recommend continuing with a Master’s degree in Naval Architecture, perhaps in a foreign university (e.g. Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, Finland).

Thank you @Tupsis, that’s an option that I’ve considered. I was interested in the Royal Institution of Naval Architects in particularly also because is accessible in matter of costs, M.SCs in the universities that you have mentioned are pretty expensive for me actually… that’s why I want to know if a RINa’s Certification could be at the level of a MSc in matter of preparation and ‘‘curriculum’’.

Not that I have any advice to offer but what are your plans with the degree? Work for a naval arch firm, class society, shipyard, marine salvage…? What are your interests?

1 Like

I might be completely wrong, but I feel you might be misunderstanding what RINA is. The RINA equivalent in Italy is the AsProNaDi (http://www.aspronadi.com/associazione/). My understanding is that is not a school, although it does offer some courses.