What endorsements/certs do I need as an AB unlimited w/RFPNW to work on drill ships?

This is my first time (ever!) posting on a forum, but I’m in need of good orderly direction. I’ve been working on scientific Research Vessels for about 12 years and want to crossover to the Oil and Gas sector. I only recently discovered O&G specific courses such as RIGPASS/SAFEGULF, BOSIET/EST and MIST. Of which I’ve taken in hopes it will get me in the door. I put it to anyone in the know, am I missing anything? Do I need anything else like Advanced Fire Fighting to work on 7th gen drill ships?

That is an excellent question. Hopefully, the deep water drilling guys will weigh in on this.

I work for an offshore drilling company with some new builds and we do not have any AB positions onboard. I am pretty sure all our DPO & ADPO’s are required to have their 3rds Licenses. We also have a 3rd mate, Chief Mate and Captain, but zero regular AB’s. Some of the drilling crew do have AB’s and LB endorsements, so they help fill the role of a traditional AB, but they also spend lots of time on the drilling side. Sorry.

With 12yrs experience you should have more than enough time to take your 3rd’s test. Why not do that and make yourself much more employable?

[QUOTE=Kingrobby;147739]I work for an offshore drilling company with some new builds and we do not have any AB positions onboard. I am pretty sure all our DPO & ADPO’s are required to have their 3rds Licenses. We also have a 3rd mate, Chief Mate and Captain, but zero regular AB’s. Some of the drilling crew do have AB’s and LB endorsements, so they help fill the role of a traditional AB, but they also spend lots of time on the drilling side. Sorry.

With 12yrs experience you should have more than enough time to take your 3rd’s test. Why not do that and make yourself much more employable?[/QUOTE]