State Taxes: Shipping/Living overseas and leaving income tax state with a South Dakota PMB address

Hello,

Bit of a long post, sorry about that. I live a nomad sort of mariner lifestyle, often spending most of my year when not on ships traveling overseas through various foreign countries, only returning to the US to hop back on board ships and leave again to make more money. However from 2020 until late 2023 I started shipping out of an income tax state because one of our union halls there had a labor shortage due to the pandemic.

While shipping was indeed good over there, the caveat was was that due to the lockdowns and travel bans not allowing me to travel overseas and keeping me stuck in the income tax state in-between shipping jobs, I became a resident of the income tax state and got a Drivers License there- before then I was a resident of tax free Florida from a previous address I had while I was still land based (but at that time I no longer had a place in Florida). While in the income tax state in-between ships, I was staying at a Seamen’s Home, a temporary residency for sailors that, through their own lease, states that the establishment is for mariners looking to ship out for work purposes only and is only limited to 90 day stays at a time maximum, and is not a permanent residency or residential address. Despite this, due to the chaotic and unpredictable nature of the pandemic with the lockdowns and travel bans, I became a resident of that state and got a DL there, which in hindsight was probably pretty stupid and overkill- however this was never intended to be permanent, and was only due to the exceptional, unusual and chaotic nature of the pandemic that had me stuck in the state at the Seamen’s Home for longer than I would have liked to have been. It should also be said, the ships themselves were international/interstate, did not travel anywhere intrastate, and only docked in the state for two days once every month or so before leaving the state destine