State of Military Sealift Command

I’ve been sailing for 4 years now with MSC as a Third Engineer. Overall not the worst place to work, the checks never bounced, got to see and spend considerably Port time in 14 countries, served aboard diverse engineering platforms.

However, I’m on medical leave (minor surgery) and got a call to come back to work. The HR rep told me that MSC is overdue 34 slots, and that in the future they are enforcing a one month off for vacation rather than the traditional two months off.

This happens every year, there’s no incentive to work during the in demand time of year. Unlike the halls, we get paid to wait for a ship, and we have zero say in where we go, so even if you do go back to a high demand time, no guarantee it will lead to a higher paying ship, thus no incentive.

In addition, the pay differences between ships can be huge (25-35% difference) so if you are on a good ship, prepare to make the big bucks, but stay for a year or two.

It got me thinking, why can’t MSC be Government Owned Contractor Operated across the board? The only difference I can see is certain jobs are heavily involved with UNREPS, and you wouldn’t want an AB with zero UNREP experience on the line. Still, that can be mitigated by training programs, as many of the GOCO ships do now.

But most Civmar positions, particularly engineering and steward department, have little difference in the union jobs. Why not have the unions crew them all, they seem
much better equipped to handle the ebb and flow of employment, provide more time off, and are cheaper for the tax payer.

Any insight on why MSC operates the way it does?

1 Like

MSC is a niche market with 130 ships and 5200 CIVMARS.
The SIU alone claims 35,500 members. The unions aren’t structured to manage the number of unique training requirements and the security clearance apparatus.