No one really wants to "save" the Merchant Marine

I come from a generation of Mariners that is often accused of just making memes making fun of John Konrad, and not really contributing to the conversation on what we can do in regards to actually “saving” the US merchant marine. It’s true, I never come to the gcaptain forum because you all are just a bunch of grumpy old men. Last time I posted something here I was a high school student asking how to become a pilot, and predictably I was roasted to a crisp. But after enough people sent me forum posts about "those damn millennial snowflakes’’ complaining and not contributing, I figured I ought to throw in my two cents.

I’m not convinced anyone really wants to save the merchant marine in the first place. You don’t have to be a SUNY grad to see the problem- I think most of us can look around and think “why don’t we just build more ships?” We know the answer. The Jones Act requires they be built in the US. Why aren’t more ships built in the US? Well, it’s expensive.

Everyone is thinking it, I’m just going to say it. If we got rid of the build Requirements, but kept the rest of the Jones Act, it could do a lot of good for our country, not just in terms of filling a market for smaller feeder ships, coastwise container routes and probably other markets that are above my pay grade. Not to mention the environmental impact we could have getting trucks off the road, more LNG powered ships and the infrastructure to go with it, and turning our old ass ships into razor blades. (That is if you actually can turn red hand into a razor blade, as that’s what some of our fleet seems to be made of at this point)

The airline industry manages to keep American flight crews on Airbus aircraft. Swift doesn’t recruit foreigners as OTR truck drivers. I don’t know why we keep shooting ourselves in the foot with this expensive American equipment.

BuT tHiNk oF tHe ShIpYaRdS!!1!!11