Nav old vs. New

I studied, transit SAT, Omega, Decca and LORAN A, B & C in the university, but I started boating using LORAN-C, then came the GPS, then it was developed to plotters then chart plotters, but for some stupid reason, it was not until I upgraded from my Garmin 45 to Garmin 48, when I felt that I can navigate the 7 seas :smile::smile:

Nowadays we have WAAS and DGPS with multiple screens, fully integrated with radars, autopilots, and sonars, even weather satellites and 3D overlays, and if you want to go all the way you can have infrared and thermal cameras integrated to your radar system,and for your lovely engines you can get them diagnosed and fixed through an internet connection, oh! I forget to mention entertainment and communications onboard, from SAT TV, and SAT Phone to internet coverage all around the world,

My point is, when was the last time anyone checked his paper charts?, Or calibrated his compass? Or worried about deviation? (“Sorry I am not gonna mention the sixtant, cause it will just be ridiculous”), or really had to use the VHF or the SSB? Or know the ethics of using the VHF?, Or corrected a vessel position on the chart? Or look at the sky trying to forecast the weather? Or use the barometer?

30 years ago, when I asked “Dr. Refaat Rashad” my professor in the university, about the definition of Navigation, he told me " It is the ART and SCIENCE of controlling the vessel movement from point A to point B safely and in the most efficient way.!!!

30 years later, I am asking myself, is this definition still stands??? Is there any ART involved anymore??? Or we are loosing our pride being sailors and navigators to the High Tec gadgets? Guys remember it only takes a power outage in your vessel to be blind if you only use those toys.