Loran A, Stoking Coal, Sunstones

I am so old, the two RO/ROs I sailed on were steam. . . .

3 Likes

That shovelling coal can be a bitch my grandfather says

1 Like

I’m so old I remember the Crest, Cove and OMI Tankers!! And Loran A!!

2 Likes

I used it as a cadet and hated it, fortunately it was turned off a few months before I graduated and got my first license.

1 Like

I used Loran A for years fishing offshore.

Loran C originally worked in a similar way, matching ground wave to ground wave or sky wave to sky wave on the scope by turning five time difference knobs.

It beat the hell out of RDF fixes.

2 Likes

My first ship as 3rd Officer was in North Sea trade (1964) The “sophisticated” Consol Navigation System were used for position fixing when I joined:

This was later replaced by a Decca Navigator:

1 Like

My Dad was stationed at a USCG Loran station in Labrador in the late 1940s. He thought it was a great improvement compared to RDF. He lived long enough to experience GPS which thought was great but he always cautioned that all means of modern navigation are dependent on electrical power. Know where you are on a paper chart just in case. I keep old maps in my car, they have coffee stains but you never know…

1 Like

The Canadian boats had Decca (1970s), but I never saw it on an American boat. (Not to be confused with the Decca brand name radars).

That was back when the EEZ was only a 12 mile limit. We often fished around the Canadian boats. Some crewmen worked on boats on either side of the border too.

Limited chain coverage only. The North Sea was well covered:

As was the Nordic area;

Here is the full list of chains:
http://www.jproc.ca/hyperbolic/decca_chains.html

Wow. You guys are a bunch of geezers. Y’all going to start busting out your sunstones next?

:laughing:

2 Likes

I still have my sextant.

1 Like

I’ve worked distance off a light ship with the underwater gong. I was amazed how accurate it was!