LNG certification and employment

I am currently a plebe deck major at USMMA. I’m completely new to the maritime industry but I have an interest in LNG’s. The staff is fairly vague about the certifications and employment opportunities that I might have in this field so I’m looking for a experienced mariner to fill me in. Any suggestions about skills or certifications that I should aquire or about ships that I should try to work on for sea year would be appreciated.

You’re going to need a LG tankerman endorsement. Take the LNG course at USMMA, that will get you at a minimum “Tankerman-Assistant” which will allow you to work a cargo watch on an LNG ship in a support capacity. In order to get the Tankerman-PIC endorsement that you will need to be in charge of the cargo watch, you will need 90 days on an LNG ship and document participation in 10 cargo transfers, including specific numbers of transfers involving certain critical operations. You can get the LNG time and cargo transfers while a cadet, so if at all possible, get yourself sent to an LNG ship in your sea year. That will get you a head start that might distinguish you from other acdemy graduates seeking the same jobs. If you can get the 90 days and 10 cargo transfers, you’ll graduate with the PIC endorsement.

The same would apply for oil/chemical tankers and the DL endorsement, you graduate the academy with a minimum of tankerman-assistant and need tanker time and cargo transfers to get the PIC. (Oil/chemical tankers need a “Dangerous Liquid” or DL endorsement and a DL specific course). You can also get the DL PIC endorsement at graduation if you get your cadet shipping time on a tanker.

Thank you. This was exactly the kind of information I was looking for.