In-demand skills? future prospects?

I’m starting my career at sea. I’ll be 33 in October, and am wondering what this will mean for my potential for advancement down the line. How long does it take to become a captain? And at the age I’ll be then, will I get the job, or wind up being passed over by younger people? Currently I’m wanting to sail all seven seas and get to all the world I can. Down the line I’m sure I’d like to settle down eventually.

Secondly, what skills are in demand? My background is computers, networking, low voltage electronics, (BS Computer Science) and I’ve always been the kind of guy to work on my own truck and help friends with theirs, and do as much around the house as I could. Oh and I can cook alright too :slight_smile: So do I get certs in engineering department or satellite and communications, and that will take me to the top, or will that prevent me from going up the deck track?

btw so far i have my STCW95 BST, TWIC, MMD. Which certs should I work on first/next, in your exalted opinion?

thanks and fair sailing and all that
James

Heck I waited until I was 41 to start my career.

There are a lot of different versions of “Captain” so from 2 to 6 years depending on your choice and up to 10 if you get on equal time/ 8 hour days. You can read the NMC website to get some information on the requirements for each different version.

As far as certs… your next bump up will be to AB but you have to be careful that you don’t get them to early because they are only good for 1 year. So make sure you have a job that will get you the seatime you need to upgrade within the year of taking the AB. Lifeboatman/PSC is the same. Some things that don’t expire is your MROP (radio license) and GMDSS also an FCC license. You can go to the FCC site and get the information on these items. The schools have a way to help you get them but you are spending money when you can download all the information from the FCC website for free.