How to Design a Vessel in 5 steps

Looking back at my design experience I would love to share some thoughts regarding how to design a vessel in 5 steps.
By yourself. If you are a Naval Architect or a self-taught amateur.
After some time spent in thinking I decided to describe following stages or steps:

Step 1 - Imagination & Analyzing.

At this step we are imagining what kind of vessel are we going to design, what kind of main dimensions
we would like to have and what type of the hull we are planning to choose (classic, X-bow, mono hull, catamaran, etc).
Once we decided it’s time to analyze what kind of Rules or/and Conventions we would take as the basement for our project.
We can determine following sub-steps for this stage:

[ul]
[li]Is it below “conventional dimensions”? So we are not applying for any Certificates and Rules.[/li][li]Is it above “conventional dimensions”? So we will apply for IMO, SOLAS, MARPOL, LL, COLREG, STCW, HSC, SPS and others.[/li][li]Under what kind of “Flag” are we going to sail? And if we have already chosen the “Flag” we will have to do research[/li][li]about the local Classification Authority, in a circle of interests of which we might to appear and Rules of which we will have to implement for our project.[/li][/ul]

[FONT=Georgia]Step 2 – Concept Design and work with Rules.

At this step we are working closely with “first entry” 3D design of the vessel’s hull to materialize our
imagination and “make it done” in simple 3D model of the outside skin of the vessel.
Golden Rule - It [FONT=inherit]DOES NOT matter if we are not going to claim for certificates of any Classification Society
or Conventions – we are always designing a vessel using any suitable Rules of Classification Societies and/or
International Conventions in a value we able to implement them to maximize and risen the level of our quality
and safety. [/FONT]
There are following sub-steps we can highlight below:

[ul]