Fiction Writer/Questions/ Commercial Crabbing fishing

Hello,

I’m a writer and have several questions for those of you in the know. I write fiction and in my current work in progress my main character is on the run from a murder he thinks he committed during a blackout. He is a charter fisherman in Astoria but has worked in commercial fishing in his younger days. He is going to be a last minute hire (deck hand) in Bellingham on a boat owned and captained by a Croatian man and his brother, and four other crew members. I know normally, (I think) that usually deck hands find their own transportation to Kodiak and meet the boat there, but for my purposes I want my MC to travel with this crew to Kodiak for the January King crab season. Also the boat is an older seiner 1976ish, 68 feet long, with crabbing equipment as well. So here are my questions.

[ol]
[li]How long does it typically take to get to Larson Bay by boat, and what route would a commercial fisherman take?
[/li][li]What kinds of whether and ocean conditions might you expect?
[/li][li]What would the crew be doing during this time since they are not actually working.
[/li][li]I would like my main character to have some mechanical skills and be of assistance in fixing something that breaks or lines that are clogged etc. What might be typical malfunctions and repairs needed to made along the way?
[/li][li]Do the crew members bring their own food, or is it provided?
[/li][li]When they get to Kodiak, what is the most logical thing they do? As in do they refuel and jump right into crabbing, and would Dutch Harbor be where they would most likely launch from?
[/li][li] I’ve heard that the hours are long, sometimes no sleep just straight work. Is that until the end of January.
[/li][li]I also would like to know what kind of major breakdown of the boat would require towing it into harbor for at least 2-4 days of repair?