Drillship fishing

Hey guys pretty new to the forum but I’ve been working at sea for a few years at this point on a couple oil tankers and sea going vessels, Im going to be changing career path slightly and start working on a drill ship. This post may be obvious for a lot of guys - I just don’t know the climate of the work environment on these ships.

Does anybody do any fishing on these ships?? (or is it against policy) I know that the fishery is unbelievable in the gulf of mexico and people pay top dollar to do a charter.

Chances are the company has some policy against it for liability reasons. But let me know - as I would love to set the hook on a yellowfin out there.

Thanks,
Just another disgruntled seafarer

Leave your rods at home.

4 Likes

My policy albeit on different types of ships is to let you have at it but if you leave fish blood or guts on my deck, your fishing permit is revoked.

3 Likes

Really depends on the company and the operator. When I started it was allowed, banned by company policy briefly a few years later, then allowed again. The good oil companies would pay for the fishing license. The good captains would buy the vacuum sealer and deep freezer.

2 Likes

Since the Drillships in the GoM are all foreign flag fishing would be against the law.
They operate inside the US EEZ and no foreign fishing is allowed.

PS> Even if you are NOT within the US EEZ the company probably prohibit fishing from any Drilling rig since hooks may get stuck on the BOP or control hoses, representing a danger to divers.

1 Like

You must be a blast at parties…

2 Likes

Thanks!!!

100% not true, but thanks for commenting.

This American in American waters on an American permit using an American fishing license had no issues on every foreign flag drillship I’ve ever been on in the GOM.

5 Likes

Sweet guys, thanks for the responses! I’ve fished on all the ships i’ve worked on - but ill keep my gear at home this next hitch.

Stay safe on the waters.