Confined space entry

I am now a retired Marine surveyor. my specialty or should I say the nature of my business was the on hire and off hire of barges and derrick barges & trip surveys of unclassed barges. i have done well over 500 entries during my 40 year tenure.
I had my own O2 equipment and for the most part did my own gas freeing of compartments safe for entry. the unit came with 20 ft of hose and a pump. while below the monitor would run all the time. as i typically worked alone. It was SOP to have a spotter or safety man on deck who would yell down periodically to see that I was OK.
you have to walk the interior all tanks to their farthest bulkhead prior to the start of recording information for the survey

the fact that I had my own sniffer which I tested prior to entry and was serviced or replaced as needed saved my life on numerous occasions when vessel owners or charters were anxious to get there charter started so that they could use the barge. Lying to me that the barge was safe was not uncommon with certain companies that did not remove the hatch covers 24 hours prior to my attendance. and costly to them because i would refuse to enter.

in these cases time was consumed in power ventilation some times overnight of all compartments prior to entry and continued during the survey time within the tank.
barges without interior coating and with heavy build up of rust are a particular hazard as the rusting process consumes air.
The USCG required a Marine chemist certificate before their inspection as it was necessary say in the case of an unclassed barge to get a trip permit for off shore transit. it was all coordinated by me and i made sure prior to the chemist arrival that i had sniffed all tanks.
having your own equipment is essential. i also had a monitor with alarm tied to my shoe lace so as you went down the ladder the shoe unit would pick up any hazards first.