About that ETA

I was mate on a tug/barge in SE Alaska and one time I was out on the barge tying up in Ketchikan at about 0600 hrs.

The only person there to meet us was the owner and before we were even done making the barge fast he started giving me grief about the ETA being wrong.

I was somewhat taken aback because until then I’d never heard the ETA discussed or even mentioned. Turns out the captain had told the owner we were going to arrive at 0300 hrs and the owner had gotten out of bed three hours too early to meet us.

I spend a lot of time at sea watching the weather and thinking about the ETA.

Started this thread a while ago:

ETAs are sometimes associated with risk taking and commercial pressure, there is that but there is also a purely technical side. Accurate ETAs can reduce schedule pressure in some cases.

That’s a good insight and agree eta can have several consequences.

When I Was a trade manager based in Australia we were approached by local press that was going to measure carriers base on ETA’s They asked for ETA & they were going to publish “Average ETA performance” no mention of deviation from published, very different thing. Or when in the voyage ETA was going to be published.

Our voyage Europe, East Coast US, Panama Transit, New Zealand, then Australia. Half way around the world with multiple stops timing mostly out of our control,

Waited until the master reported departure New Zealand Then had the trade assistants notify press of ETA using my variable criteria. They did not specify arrival territorial waters, pilot on board, docking, commence cargo operation or cargo available for delivery.

Needless to say we had near perfect ETA performance

Boats

1 Like

ETA - Also known as “Premeditated Sandbagging”.

On a coastwise, the type of arrival, ETA ( Estimated Time of Arrival) or RTA (Requested Time of Arrival) depends in large part on labor costs associated with that port.