Jobs available for a woman (?)

[B]What kind of jobs are out there for a woman who is interested in this field?[/B]

I’m 24 years old; I have a Bachelor’s Degree–I have just always been fascinated with jobs that are not too common to what I am used to.

There are women in all aspects of the merchant marine- captains, engineers, deckhands, etc. Most position will require an mmd (merchant mariner document) via the coastguard-
If you don’t have an mmd you can still work inland- i/e on rivers- but not out at sea.

American Cruise lines is actively hiring- no mmd needed.

Their website is americancruiselines.com. Cruise lines are usually easier to get hired at- but pay less.

It would give you a chance to see if life on a ship is something you like.

take care-Anthony

Thank you for the response :slight_smile:
I would like to try to find something available for the summer. Currently I am working; however, it always takes planning and finding out: 1)who to ask, and 2) how to get started.
The men in my family work in wireline, but didn’t seem to be too interested in answering my questions of pursuing a job like this and/or any that isn’t too common for a woman to work at. lol

If you’re looking for something for summer- apply now.

Lots of people work cruise ships for just a summer.

Every ship I’ve been on has been about half female. This is less true on other types of ships- but in general what matters is your attitude and how hard you work. A sailor is a sailor- regardless of sex.

If you need help applying- or want more contacts- shoot me an email.

I just signed on to this site–I do not know how to use all of the features of it yet.

Ok, I was under the impression that there weren’t many women (especially NOT half). It does not matter to me, i just wouldn’t want to be unrealistic in whether or not they get hired to doing something much more than a cook and/or janitorial.