Rtbu

OK, so ill start it since i haven’t seen much, if any activity about it on here. I will point out that though I am knew to this forum, I am certainly not new to the industry. I am just trying to get other peoples opinion (good or bad) and trying to make sense of the RTBU. I know its a relativity new “bargaining unit” and still in the early process of getting all its ducks in a row, but I’ve read all the legal gobbledygook on the website which, because I am not a lawyer, still doesn’t make much sense. The RTBU Constitution states in a nutshell, which is very similar to Wikipedia’s definition of the word “alliance”, that the members will work together in order to advance common goals and to secure common interests. As we all know, RTBU was formed by FORMER KSea employees to protect their job related rights. Well guess what, KSea DOESN’T EXIST anymore. There is no more KSea, no more Allied Transportation, no more Penn Maritime, there is only Kirby Offshore Marine. How can a bargaining unit say that its members need to all work together, support the cause, get excited, pay us money, etc, etc when everyone is on a different playing field. Pay is different, longevity and seniority are inconsistent throughout the fleet, people are unhappy, communication is nonexistent. Just wondering if someone can tell explain, in tugboat not legal talk, why this is. Would love to hear others thoughts and opinions on the new UNIT in town. Trust me, I’m not disgruntled, just curious and not getting answers anywhere else.

The ultimate/common goal is to achieve what you observe to be lacking. Has to be something to work towards…right? What good would it be if not?

Look elsewhere on the interwebs for more detail, there is a site/forum like “new York harbor workers” that’s all about 333/rtbu.