Practicing celestial navigation at home

Dear all,
Greetings to you all, I am a physicist and sailor, and have been long fascinated by celestial navigation. I have studied the related chapters on Bowditch’s American Practical Navigator, understand well the theory behind it, and I am able to do the sight-reduction exercises with no difficulties.

However, I have never taken a sight. I would like to take advantage of this period where we are stuck at home :disappointed_relieved: to practice some sight reductions from home.

I live in a place where I cannot see the horizon. However, I can make an artificial one with a pan with a dark bottom filled with water (I have tried, and I can see in it a clear, beautiful reflection of the Moon), and I plan to purchase a sextant to practice sights with this artificial horizon.

Do you have any suggestion of a sextant model (new or second-hand) that I could purchase to this purpose? I am not looking for a very high-quality one, but for a model that is good enough to reproduce my correct position with these sights with a reasonable accuracty, i.e., a precision good enough to convince me that I am not getting that position by luck :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:. In other words, I would like to see and be convinced that the sight reduction is working!

Also, given a suggested model, with what accuracy do you expect that it can reproduce my position with such an artificial horizon?

Thank you for you help!
Joshua

Don’t get a plastic yacht one, they are awful.
Get something like this: Nauticalia Captain Campbell’s Vernier Sextant | Force 4 Chandlery

If you are doing it in your garden then your life probably isn’t going to depend on it so you don’t need to spend mega bucks.

However, you must ensure that you apply the correct corrections to the instrument.
Most people forget about collimation.

1 Like

That’s a small-size replica, 20x16 cm. From the seller: