How to fill license application for approval to test?

This is my first time going about getting approval from the coast guard to test? Do I fill out the License Application? or do I go about it another way I have searched the internet and forums and cant find anything any help would be much appreciated!!
Thanks!

Fill out the license application. Email it in to REC. Gets forwarded to NMC. They will send you an approved to test letter. Pass test. They will send you a license.

[QUOTE=orangejulius;53348]This is my first time going about getting approval from the coast guard to test? Do I fill out the License Application? or do I go about it another way I have searched the internet and forums and cant find anything any help would be much appreciated!!
Thanks![/QUOTE]

50thState gave you the quick and dirty, but I would like to add that there are checklists for each license application. What are you going for? If you go by the checklists they will help you make sure that you don’t forget anything and complete applications without errors get processed quicker with less delays than someone who sends an incomplete application.

What they said, but also be sure to pay for your testing/issuance fees at pay.gov then email/mail a copy of the payment along with your application to the NMC.

I am going for my 500 master. I am still lacking flashing lights and about 60 days of sea time. My thoughts where to see if I could go ahead and submit and start the process such as going through medical. Last time when I got my 100 ton master they gave me a lot of trouble since I have asthma. Is it possible to go ahead and start the review process and keep extending it till I have the everything therefore speeding the process up? or should I just wait till I have all my ducks in a row?
Thanks for the help everyone this site is awesome!